Painting : Taking Flight

taking flight - painting by brina schenk

Using acrylic and india ink (typical combo for me), I made this painting for two special friends of ours, Marni and Andre. They were married last May and I just gave them their wedding present today. I hope it was worth the wait. Rod and I made the canvas, which you can’t see, but I do love that we can customize a canvas to whatever size we like. For our wedding guestbook we put together a massive canvas and had everyone draw a picture of themselves. It’s now hanging above our bed and I love it more and more every year.

I do understand that it’s risky giving a painting as a wedding present because they may not like it. But I figure they have a big house, if it ends up in a guestroom or even the garage, that’s up to them. They could even give it away if they like. But I love creating paintings for people!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

