Learning How To Sew – A Top For Phoenix

Rod bought me a sewing machine recently, something I’ve been wanting to get myself for a long time but just never did. Well, now I have a sewing machine and I have to teach myself how to sew (my only experience was in grade 7 and 8 Home Economics class) because that’s the way I prefer to do things. I go at my own pace and experiment and learn fast by all the mistakes I make. I love it! It brings me great joy learning and making things on my own. Plus, when you have 2 very young children it’s hard to find a good chunk of time to dedicate to learning a new craft.

After a few days of mastering the art of sewing a straight line and a few attempts at making drool bandanas for my son, I pulled out an old pattern that I borrowed from my mom this summer. I love what I made but I didn’t follow the pattern 100% (another thing I love to do) because the pattern is about 30 years old and a bit dated. Here are a few pictures of the outcome. Not bad. Not bad.

I’m excited to take my skills to home decor design. Pillows, artwork, storage organizers are all on the to-do list.

Beginner Sewing, Toddler Top, Sewing, DIY Learning To Sew, Toddler Top, Sewing

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

